School of Applied Sciences

The University of Mississippi

Congratulations to the Class of 2015

Posted on May 11th, 2015 by staff

OXFORD, Miss–Students, faculty, staff, family members, and friends packed the Manning CenterĀ for the University of Mississippi’s School of Applied Sciences graduation commencement on May 9th, 2015. Over 400 students walked the podium and received their degrees.IMG_0628 (1)

“We wish our students very happy, healthy, and productive lives,” said Dr. Velmer Burton, dean of the School of Applied Sciences. “They have been given a wonderful opportunity at Ole Miss. They should be proud of their achievements and thankful for the opportunities.”

At the ceremony, the 2015 Taylor Medalists were also recognized. To receive a Taylor Medal, the student must be a junior or senior, have a minimum grade-point average of at least a 3.9, be nominated by the faculty, approved by the dean, and selected by a university-wide faculty committee. It is the highest academic award granted at UM. This year’s medalists were Caleb Jesse Creel, Kim Tong Lee, Hunter Ross Wilkerson, Abigail Louise Dobbs, and Bethanne Cheney.

The Thomas A. Outstanding Faculty Award was also awarded to Dr. Jeremy Loenneke, assistant professor of health, exercise science, and recreation management. This award is given annually to a faculty members who is recognized by students and faculty peers as excelling in his or her academic disciplinary field.

Bethanne Cheney, 2015 class marshal, said in her speech, “Now some will enter the work force, some will continue their studies as graduate students, while some will take other worthy paths. Regardless of where the road leads from here, we have a bond that was born over 167 years ago in 1848, the founding and beginning of the University of Mississippi.”